last day (15 days later) » 

09:15
0
Q: Hindus and halal

asweenIs it OK for a Hindu to consume halal certified vegetarian items? There are vegetarian food items like spices and pickles that are certified like that.Should I ignore it or look for non-halal alternatives? I do understand there aren't any clear answer. My expectation is to just get some guidance...

halal certified vegetarian food items means that it does not contain any poisonous chemicals etc that can harm human beings. Feel free to eat them.
What is halal? AFAIK this terminology is not a Hindu one.
@UbiBhatt not counseling anyone for I myself am a vegetarian, it's a freewill, that is what is also explained in Gita and depending upon the intelligence of the individual he/she will eat whatever they feel like.
@ram I have voted to close this question. It is not Hinduism or Sanata Dharma question. It is socio-cultural (humanities) domain questions.
@Rickross I have voted to close this question. It is not Hinduism or Sanata Dharma question. It is socio-cultural (humanities) domain questions.
@Just_Do_It Which version of the Gita/Geeta you are following? In the name of Hinduism everyone is taking a free hit. Krishna himself was a proponent of vegetarian diet. Which God, demi-God, Yogi, Shant, or Guru preached you to eat meat? This is not a socio-cultural site under humanities domain. Here you should share knowledge only based on the teaching of Hinduism. Support your thought by giving proof that meat is permissible in Hinduism. You can't stop them from eating it, but at same time you should also tell them that you are not practicing Hinduism either.
It would have been better for you to search this forum itself about non-veg food and it's references before asking me, you will have plenty of similar questions and answers. @UbiBhatt
09:15
@Just_Do_It you can't snap back with an argument about what others are doing. If I see them, then I will require clarification from them as well. You can't support your argument based on those logic. Why aren't you correcting them? Also, provide independent support to your thoughts.
@UbiBhatt This question is not off-topic question. Our site includes social and cultural aspects of Hinduism too. This is as valid as "Can Hindus eat Beef/meat". I am not sure where and why you got the information this question is off-topic.
@Sarvabhouma secular mentality everywhere. You seams to forget that I also demanded said commentor to quote scriptures, guru, saint, or yogi teaching to eat meat. Being born hindu and practicing Hinduism is two different things.
@Sarvabhouma Can you explain how the term halal is a part of Hinduism? If you wish to comment then please comment with proper references because our website also demand to furnish proper source to substantiate your thoughts.
@UbiBhatt See help center for what is on-topic for the site. You can also see what is off-topic in the same page. There can be Hinduism equivalent for any term. English is not a part of Hinduism but you are talking. right? Meat is also an English word but we find an English equivalent. Ask the OP what they mean by Halal but this question doesn't become off-topic. "Secular mentality everywhere" What exactly do you mean by that? What else do you expect then? Fight among each other? This is not a Hindu website. Please understand Stack Exchange model. This is not a place to demand or debate.
@Sarvabhouma When I say, "Secular mentality" then I am talking about claims made by people without substantial proof. Stackexchange answers/comments/thoughts etc. demands proof in form of authentic sources. Also, you failed to explain, IS HALAL a part of Hindu terminology? There is difference between terminology and language vocabulary. Language can be used to express thoughts, it does not necessary be associated with any religion or dharma. First get your basics right.
@Sarvabhouma also, if you concentrate on question more than my trailing comments. Then OP is asking for Halal-Vegetarian food items, and not meat. That was the first trigger point when I questioned Just_do_it's comment. That user is simply endorsing eating meat even though OP isn't asking for it.
@Ubi I suggest u to get your words right. SE isn't a social media to use vocabulary as you wish. There's a Code of Conduct. Secular here means what it actually means i.e who is not connected to any religion and respects every religion equally. SE is a secular site which respects every religion equally. This is just a site for learning Hinduism not a Hindu site which preaches. That's where you're confused. Only answers are to be backed up with references. Comments are just for clarification. Please get your facts right from SE. Learn about "boat meme" on SO to know if your example is on-topic.
09:15
@Sarvabhouma don't deviate from original point. Try to read OP's question, if you are so into defending meat eating. OP is asking about Halal vegetarian food, and other commentor is endorsing eating Halal meat. I have been long on SE then you may be. I haven't used abusive words, or insulted anyone in any form. I am again and again trying to point that OP is asking about Halal VEGETARIAN food and not meat. Cultivate habit of reading question in detail before engaging someone into unwanted debate.

last day (15 days later) »