@Yakk "Over" and "Along" in this context are synonymous, unless you're trying to literally say that it doesn't come into contact with the ground, which I doubt. Either way, you would be, in fact, incorrect that Move Earth cannot be used to bury a creature. You are correct that it won't grapple the creature, since being under a pile of dirt doesn't automatically impose the grappled condition, and neither does the spell say that it imposes such a condition. Being buried under a pile of dirt, however, is not a condition, so that can still be done.
@JoãoMendes A tsunami moves "along the ground" as well. Would you argue that it wouldn't completely cover someone if it moved into their space? You can most certainly use this spell to cover someone in dirt.
@JoãoMendes Actually, spells doing what they say they do does mean you can bury someone alive. The spell doesn't give any special exception to if the pile of dirt ends up on top of a creature that allows them to just get out, so we default to how piles of dirt normally work. That is to say, the creature is now buried under several tons of earth.
Well, a single cubic foot of dirt isn't going to encase most things, even if they're as small as a halfling, but assuming you meant the entire 125 cubic feet of dirt, sure, you could move it into a creatures space, but without walls to hold it in, it's not going to stay standing up, and it'll just spill right over. It may end up being a minor inconvenience for them to extricate themselves from a waist-high pile, but it's not going to completely bury them like it would if they were in a hole with nowhere for the dirt to go.
There is no part of the spell where is says "Any creature in the space where you move the earth to are pushed up to the top of the pile". Spells only do what they say they do, and that isn't one of the things it says it does.
Fantastic versus Non-Fantastic goes back to Chainmail.
The first reference I have (Original D&D) is the discussion on page 3 of the second issue of Sratetgic Review(Summer 1975), which was a newsletter from TSR that had some FAQ for their new game Dungeons and Dragons. The excerpt you are referr...
If you don't feel like it, I'm more than happy to throw up a short answer that does that instead, but I feel like by itself it's not really enough for its own answer.
@ThomasMarkov for your answer on that Booming Blade question, you might also include a note on the Subtle Spell Metamagic (possibly acquired by the Metamagic Adept feat) and why it may or may not be helpful.
Here's a question: Can an Arcane Eye see into the area of an Antimagic Field? Does the eyes vision count as a magical effect, and by extension is that magical effect then excluded from the area of the Antimagic Field?
@AncientSwordRage Hard to say. Normally you would mix powdered milk with water, which (in theory) doesn't have much of its own flavor, but now, you're getting the flavor of the regular milk with the powdered milk, and it might reduce or it might amplify the grossness
Well, that, and there's always the question of "does it actually matter what pronouns a Q/A uses to describe a hypothetical person?" In most cases the answer is "No, it doesn't matter, just leave it"
@vicky_molokh-unsilenceMonica This, I believe, is what we call legalese. That, and there are probably parts that are standard add-ins for the contract that just get copy-pasted without change. My bet is that the parts that say "he" were written with this particular contractor in mind, while the others were written in a more generic format so they could be copied into multiple contracts without need to edit, for the contract drafters convenience.