« first day (3605 days earlier)      last day (65 days later) » 

1:50 AM
@murgatroid99 is that true? Does twinning glass know what ornithopter was called when it entered the battlefield?
 
@AncientSwordRage the spell it was cast as is a different object from the permanent that spell becomes
 
@murgatroid99 but blight steel colossus has the same name as the ornithopter, and the ornithopter was cast this turn
 
The point is that the spell Ornithopter existed for a limited time
And it only had the name Ornithopter
Twinning Glass specifically talks about a card with the same name as "a spell that was cast this turn." The permanent Ornithopter isn't the same object as the spell that turned into it, so changing what the permanent's name is doesn't change what the spell's name was
 
2:43 AM
That seems to make spy kit much less useful
The only card with vaguely similar memory rulings is Mana Maze, but it has this confusing ruling:
> If a spell’s color was changed while on the stack, use the color at the time it was when you started announcement, not as it currently is on the stack or as it was at the time it resolved.
It's not even that similar if I'm honest, but it doesn't say it counts the colour as it was cast. The only confusion is when it's on the stack, which makes sense as it changes what's legal for casting.
 
 
13 hours later…
4:11 PM
So omnath, locus of creation
Definitely my next edh project
Abandoning my janky Riku wizard tribal idea
 
5:11 PM
@AncientSwordRage It really does say that it counts the color as the spell was cast
@AncientSwordRage Consider the context: Spy Kit was printed in one of the Conspiracy sets, along with Conspiracy type cards, many of which have you name a specific card and buff creatures with that name.
 
6:03 PM
@murgatroid99 :sad face:
@murgatroid99 oh, I guess it's useful in the set it was released in
 

« first day (3605 days earlier)      last day (65 days later) »