« first day (3397 days earlier)      last day (29 days later) » 

5:40 PM
So I was reading one of the (several) questions on priority and the stack in MTG, and could have sworn that there is a legendary (but true) story about someone losing in a high-stakes tournament (perhaps even in the finals) because of this rule
but I can't seem to dredge up enough details to find it. Here's what I remember:
1. Player attacked with a creature, which would otherwise do not quite enough damage to kill opponent
2. Player had an instant (like Giant Growth or something) which, had it been played and resolved, would have been enough to kill opponent
3. But player attacked, then said "any response?", just in case opponent had a bolt or something
4. Player then tried to play the GG, but judge ruled that his question ("any response?") amounted to passing priority, and that the game had moved on to combat damage
5. Opponent was left alive, and swung back to kill player the following turn
I recall this being a fairly high-profile event. I also don't believe the card was an actual Giant Growth; perhaps a Blood Lust or something?
It was also... a decade or more ago?
Let me know if anyone else recalls this story, or any further details to aid my Google-fu
 
6:02 PM
I don't think I've seen that particular story, but it looks like a textbook example of how priority is handled.
 
 
1 hour later…
7:29 PM
@murgatroid99 Yep. In my generation it was used as the de facto example for that kind of thing.
Wish I could find the actual story, though, or even the relevant card (I thought it was like a +4/+x instant, but I can't find any that tickle my memory bones
 
7:43 PM
I actually think it was shortly after the rules change about priority, so would have been a long time ago
 
8:43 PM
> Borer has lethal damage thanks to a Grave Servitude in his hand; all he has to do is attack and then put it on an unblocked creature to win the match. However, after blocks he asks, "Any fast effects?", essentially passing priority. The judge rules that they have moved to damage and he cannot cast the Servitude for lethal. This cost Borer the game, the match, the tournament, and ultimately the Pro Points needed to win Player of the Year that season.
Card is Grave Servitude, which isn't an instant, it's an Aura that can be cast as an instant, which is why I couldn't find it.
 
9:17 PM
Added the story to "Does priority matter in magic?"
0
A: Does priority matter in Magic?

BradCYes, priority can definitely matter. Take the tragic case of Terry Borer's misplay of Grave Servitude in the quarter-finals of Pro Tour Atlanta, 1996, which cost him the game, the match, and possibly the Pro Tour Player of the Year title: Borer was playing against fellow Canadian Darwin Kast...

 

« first day (3397 days earlier)      last day (29 days later) »